Who’s who in Northern Ireland

This Northern Ireland who’s who contains brief biographies of significant individuals in the Troubles. Featured profiles include political leaders, paramilitary commanders and peace campaigners. These profiles have been written and compiled by Alpha History authors. If you would like to suggest or contribute a profile for this page, please contact Alpha History.

Nationalists and Republicans
Gerry Adams
Seamus Costello
Austin Currie
Bernadette Devlin
Máire Drumm
Cathal Goulding
John Hume
Gerry Kelly
Seán Mac Stíofáin
Eamonn McCann
Martin McGuinness
Billy McKee
Michael McKevitt
Ruairí Ó Brádaigh
Dolours and Marian Price
Bobby Sands
Bobby Storey
Seamus Twomey

Unionists and Loyalists
Johnny Adair
James Chichester-Clark
William Craig
Jeffrey Donaldson
Brian Faulkner
Lenny Murphy
Terence O’Neill
Ian Paisley
Gusty Spence
David Trimble

British politicians
Tony Blair
Jeremy Corbyn
Ian Gow
Edward Heath
John Major
Peter Mandelson
Lord Louis Mountbatten
Mo Mowlam
Airey Neave
Merlyn Rees
Margaret Thatcher
William Whitelaw

Republic of Ireland politicians
Bertie Ahern
Liam Cosgrave
Jack Lynch
Albert Reynolds

Peace and justice advocates
Bill Clinton
Gerry Conlon
Mairead Corrigan
Jane Ewart-Biggs
Emma Groves
George Mitchell
Betty Williams
Gordon Wilson

Aside from primary sources, all content on this website is © Alpha History 2017-23. Content belonging to Alpha History may not be republished or distributed without our express permission. For more information please refer to our Terms of Use.