الثورة الفرنسية

الثورة الفرنسية كان لدينا كل شيء تقريبا نربطه بالثورات - العائلة المالكة المتعفنة ، والأرستقراطيين الطموحين ، والضرائب العالية ، وفشل المحاصيل ، ونقص الغذاء ، والفلاحين الجياع ، وسكان البلدة الغاضبين ، والجنس ، والأكاذيب ، والفساد ، وعنف الغوغاء ، والمتطرفين والغرباء ، والشائعات والمؤامرات وآلات تقطيع الرأس.

الثورة الفرنسية

على الرغم من أنها ليست الثورة الأولى في العصر الحديث ، إلا أن الثورة الفرنسية أصبحت بمثابة التدبير الذي تقاس عليه الثورات الأخرى. تمت دراسة الاضطرابات السياسية والاجتماعية في القرن 18th فرنسا من قبل الملايين من الناس - من العلماء في المرحلة الثانوية لطلاب المدارس الثانوية. ال اقتحام الباستيل في شهر يوليو ، أصبحت 14th واحدة من اللحظات الحاسمة في التاريخ الغربي ، وهي فكرة مثالية لشعب في الثورة. رجال ونساء فرنسا الثورية - لويس السادس عشر, ماري أنطوانيت, ماركيز دي لافاييت, هونوري ميرابو, جورج دانتون, جان بول مارات, ماكسيميليان روبسبير وغيرها - تمت دراستها وتحليلها وتفسيرها. المؤرخون أمضينا أكثر من قرنين في تقييم الثورة الفرنسية ، في محاولة لتحديد ما إذا كانت قفزة من التقدم أو الهبوط في الهمجية.

للوهلة الأولى ، تبدو أسباب الثورة الفرنسية واضحة. بحلول أواخر القرن 18th ، عانى شعب فرنسا قرون من عدم المساواة الجسيمة والاستغلال. التسلسل الهرمي الاجتماعي السائد يتطلب العقارات الثالثة، عامة الشعب ، لأداء عملها مع تحمل العبء الضريبي أيضًا. عاش الملك في عزلة افتراضية في فرساي الحكومة الملكية المطلقة من الناحية النظرية ولكن غير فعالة في الواقع. كانت الخزانة الوطنية فارغة تقريبًا ، واستنزفتها سوء الإدارة وعدم الكفاءة والفساد والإنفاق المسرف والمشاركة في الحروب الخارجية.

بحلول أواخر 1780s ، كان وزراء الملك يسعون بشدة لتنفيذ الإصلاحات المالية. ما بدأ كنزاع حول الإصلاحات الضريبية المقترحة سرعان ما تحول إلى حركة للتغيير السياسي والدستوري. مواجهة في العقارات العام في منتصف 1789 أدى إلى تشكيل جمعية وطنية ، أول من العديد من الحكومات الثورية. هذه الأحداث ، دون تهديد أو سفك دماء ، تشير إلى أن الانتقال السلمي للسلطة كان ممكنًا. خلال الأسابيع المقبلة ، موجة من العنف الشعبي - في باريس, في الريف و في فرساي نفسها - ألمح إلى ثورة دموية قادمة.

إن موقع Alpha History's French Revolution هو مورد شامل لجودة الكتب المدرسية لدراسة الأحداث في فرنسا في أواخر 1700s. يحتوي على أكثر من 500 من المصادر الأولية والثانوية المختلفة ، بما في ذلك التفاصيل ملخصات الموضوع, وثائق و الرسوم البيانية. يحتوي موقعنا على مواد مرجعية مثل خرائط و خرائط المفهوم, الجداول الزمنية, المعاجمو 'من يكون من' والمعلومات على علم التأريخ و المؤرخون. يمكن للطلاب أيضًا اختبار معرفتهم والتذكر من خلال مجموعة من الأنشطة عبر الإنترنت ، بما في ذلك مسابقات, الكلمات المتقاطعة و wordsearches.

باستثناء المصادر الأولية ، تتم كتابة جميع محتويات Alpha History من قبل المعلمين والمؤلفين والمؤرخين المؤهلين. مزيد من المعلومات على هذا الموقع والمساهمين يمكن أن يكون وجدت هنا.

باستثناء المصادر الأولية ، فإن جميع محتويات موقع الويب هذا هي © Alpha History 2018-19. لا يجوز نسخ هذا المحتوى أو إعادة نشره أو إعادة توزيعه دون إذن صريح من تاريخ Alpha. لمزيد من المعلومات حول استخدام موقع ومحتوى Alpha History ، يرجى الرجوع إلى موقعنا تعليمات الاستخدام.

The French Revolution

The French Revolution had almost everything we associate with revolutions – ravenous royals, ambitious aristocrats, high taxes, failing harvests, food shortages, hungry peasants, angry townspeople, sex, lies, corruption, mob violence, radicals and weirdos, rumours and conspiracies, state-sanctioned terror and head-chopping machines.

french revolution

Though not the first revolution of the modern era, the French Revolution has become the measure against which other revolutions are weighed. The political and social upheaval in 18th century France has been studied by millions of people – from scholars on high to students in high school. The storming of the Bastille on July 14th 1789 has become one of the defining moments of Western history, a perfect motif of a people in revolution. The men and women of revolutionary France – Louis XVI, Marie Antoinette, Marquis de Lafayette, Honore Mirabeau, Georges Danton, Jean-Paul Marat, Maximilien Robespierre and others – have been studied, analysed and interpreted. Historians have spent more than two centuries evaluating the French Revolution, trying to decide if it was a leap of progress or a descent into barbarism.

At first glance, the causes of the French Revolution seem straightforward. By the late 18th century, the people of France had endured centuries of gross inequality and exploitation. The prevailing social hierarchy required the Third Estate, the nation’s commoners, to perform its work while also shouldering the taxation burden. The king lived in virtual isolation at Versailles, his royal government absolutist in theory but ineffectual in reality. The national treasury was almost empty, drained by mismanagement, inefficiency, corruption, profligate spending and participation in foreign wars. 

By the late 1780s, the king’s ministers were desperately seeking to implement fiscal reforms. What started as a dispute over proposed tax reforms soon morphed into a movement for political and constitutional change. A confrontation at the Estates-General in mid-1789 led to the formation of a National Assembly, the first of several revolutionary governments. These events, without threats or bloodshed, suggested that a peaceful transition in power was possible. Over the coming weeks, a wave of popular violence – in Paris, in the countryside and at Versailles itself – hinted at a bloodier revolution to come.

Alpha History’s French Revolution website is a comprehensive textbook-quality resource for studying events in France in the late 1700s.  It contains more than 500 different primary and secondary sources, including detailed topic summaries, documents and graphic representations. Our website also contains reference material such as maps and concept maps, timelines, glossaries, a ‘who’s who’ and information on historiography and historians. Students can also test their knowledge and recall with a range of online activities, including quizzes, crosswords and wordsearches.

With the exception of primary sources, all content at Alpha History is written by qualified teachers, authors and historians. More information on this website and its contributors can be found here.

With the exception of primary sources, all content on this website is © Alpha History 2018-19. This content may not be copied, republished or redistributed without the express permission of Alpha History. For more information about the use of Alpha History’s website and content, please refer to our Terms of Use.