法國大革命

法國大革命 幾乎我們與革命聯繫起來的一切 - 貪婪王室成員,雄心勃勃的貴族,高稅收,沒有收成,糧食短缺,飢餓的農民,憤怒的市民,性,謊言,腐敗,暴徒的暴力,自由基和變態,謠言和陰謀,國家認可的恐怖和頭部切碎機。

法國革命

雖然不是現代革命的第一次革命,但法國大革命已成為衡量其他革命的尺度。 18世紀法國的政治和社會動盪已被數百萬人研究 - 從高中學者到高中學生。 該 猛攻巴士底獄 7月14th 1789已經成為西方歷史的決定性時刻之一,是革命中人民的完美主題。 革命法國的男人和女人 - 路易十六, 瑪麗·安托瓦內特, 拉斐特侯爵, Honore Mirabeau, Georges Danton, 讓 - 保羅馬拉特, Maximilien Robespierre 和其他人 - 已經過研究,分析和解釋。 歷史學家 花了兩個多世紀的時間來評估法國大革命,試圖決定它是進步的躍進還是野蠻的下降。

乍一看,法國大革命的原因似乎很簡單。 到了18世紀後期,法國人民經歷了幾個世紀的嚴重不平等和剝削。 流行的社會等級需要 第三產業,國家的平民,在履行其工作的同時還要承擔稅收負擔。 國王在凡爾賽宮過著虛擬的孤立生活 王室政府 絕對論在理論上但在現實中無效。 由於管理不善,效率低下,腐敗,揮霍無度的支出和參與外國戰爭,國庫幾乎空無一人。

到了新西蘭國立大學,國王的部長們拼命尋求實施財政改革。 最初的擬議稅收改革爭議很快演變為政治和憲法變革的運動。 在對抗中 莊園總 在1789中期,導致組建了國民議會,這是幾個革命政府中的第一個。 這些事件沒有受到威脅或流血,表明可以實現和平過渡。 在接下來的幾周里,一波人氣暴力 - 在巴黎, 在農村 - 在凡爾賽宮 - 暗示即將來臨的血腥革命。

阿爾法歷史的法國大革命網站是一個綜合的教科書質量資源,用於研究法國1700後期的事件。 它包含多個500不同的主要和次要來源,包括詳細的 主題摘要, 文件 - 圖形表示。 我們的網站還包含參考資料,如 地圖 - 概念圖, 時間線, 詞彙表, 一個 '誰的誰' 和有關的信息 史學 - 歷史學家。 學生還可以通過一系列在線活動測試他們的知識和回憶,包括 測驗, 填字遊戲 - wordsearches.

除主要來源外,Alpha History的所有內容均由合格的教師,作者和歷史學家撰寫。 有關本網站及其貢獻者的更多信息可以 在這裡找到.

除主要來源外,本網站上的所有內容均為©Alpha History 2018-19。 未經Alpha History明確許可,不得複制,轉載或再分發此內容。 有關使用Alpha History網站和內容的更多信息,請參閱我們的網站 使用條款.

The French Revolution

The French Revolution had almost everything we associate with revolutions – ravenous royals, ambitious aristocrats, high taxes, failing harvests, food shortages, hungry peasants, angry townspeople, sex, lies, corruption, mob violence, radicals and weirdos, rumours and conspiracies, state-sanctioned terror and head-chopping machines.

french revolution

Though not the first revolution of the modern era, the French Revolution has become the measure against which other revolutions are weighed. The political and social upheaval in 18th century France has been studied by millions of people – from scholars on high to students in high school. The storming of the Bastille on July 14th 1789 has become one of the defining moments of Western history, a perfect motif of a people in revolution. The men and women of revolutionary France – Louis XVI, Marie Antoinette, Marquis de Lafayette, Honore Mirabeau, Georges Danton, Jean-Paul Marat, Maximilien Robespierre and others – have been studied, analysed and interpreted. Historians have spent more than two centuries evaluating the French Revolution, trying to decide if it was a leap of progress or a descent into barbarism.

At first glance, the causes of the French Revolution seem straightforward. By the late 18th century, the people of France had endured centuries of gross inequality and exploitation. The prevailing social hierarchy required the Third Estate, the nation’s commoners, to perform its work while also shouldering the taxation burden. The king lived in virtual isolation at Versailles, his royal government absolutist in theory but ineffectual in reality. The national treasury was almost empty, drained by mismanagement, inefficiency, corruption, profligate spending and participation in foreign wars. 

By the late 1780s, the king’s ministers were desperately seeking to implement fiscal reforms. What started as a dispute over proposed tax reforms soon morphed into a movement for political and constitutional change. A confrontation at the Estates-General in mid-1789 led to the formation of a National Assembly, the first of several revolutionary governments. These events, without threats or bloodshed, suggested that a peaceful transition in power was possible. Over the coming weeks, a wave of popular violence – in Paris, in the countryside and at Versailles itself – hinted at a bloodier revolution to come.

Alpha History’s French Revolution website is a comprehensive textbook-quality resource for studying events in France in the late 1700s.  It contains more than 500 different primary and secondary sources, including detailed topic summaries, documents and graphic representations. Our website also contains reference material such as maps and concept maps, timelines, glossaries, a ‘who’s who’ and information on historiography and historians. Students can also test their knowledge and recall with a range of online activities, including quizzes, crosswords and wordsearches.

With the exception of primary sources, all content at Alpha History is written by qualified teachers, authors and historians. More information on this website and its contributors can be found here.

With the exception of primary sources, all content on this website is © Alpha History 2018-19. This content may not be copied, republished or redistributed without the express permission of Alpha History. For more information about the use of Alpha History’s website and content, please refer to our Terms of Use.