美國革命

美國革命 在1760中期開始,作為生活在北美東海岸的英國殖民者的叛亂。 它以1789的形式結束,創立了一個新的國家,以書面憲法和新的政府體係為基礎。

美國革命

美國革命對現代歷史產生了深遠的影響。 它挑戰並破壞了歐洲君主制的絕對主義力量。 它取代了英國君主制,其基礎是共和主義,人民主權和權力分立的啟蒙原則。

美國革命表明,革命可以成功,普通人可以自我管理。 它的想法和例子激發了法國大革命(1789)以及後來的民族主義和獨立運動。 最重要的是,美國革命催生了美國,這個國家的政治價值觀,經濟實力和軍事力量塑造和定義了現代世界。

美國革命的故事是一個快速變化和發展的故事。 在1760之前,13美國殖民地享有數十年的經濟繁榮和與英國的良好關係。 大多數美國人認為自己是忠誠的英國人; 他們滿足於成為一個明智和仁慈的英國國王的主體,而不是一些外國暴君的奴隸和附庸。 美國殖民社會中的一場革命似乎是不可想像的。

在1760中期,這種對英國的忠誠度受到了一個看似溫和的問題的考驗:對政府政策和稅收的分歧和爭論。 十年之內,美國農民用火槍和乾草叉武裝自己,並在馬薩諸塞州列剋星敦與英軍進行戰鬥。 到了1776中期,美國政界人士認為與英國的關係如此無可挽回地破裂,以至於他們投票支持獨立。 這種獨立帶來了兩個挑戰:與英國的戰爭,世界上最傑出的軍事力量,以及對新政府體制的需求。 迎接這些挑戰標誌著美國革命的最後階段。

Alpha History的American Revolution網站包含數百個主要和次要來源,可幫助您了解1763和1789之間在美國的事件。 我們的 主題頁面由經驗豐富的教師和歷史學家撰寫,提供關鍵事件和問題的簡明摘要。 它們由參考資料支持 時間線, 詞彙表, 傳記簡介, 概念圖, 報價, 史學 和突出的配置文件 歷史學家。 我們的網站還包含一系列在線活動,如 填字遊戲 和多種選擇 測驗,在那裡你可以測試和修改你對革命中美國的理解。

除主要來源外,本網站上的所有內容均為©Alpha History 2015-19。 未經Alpha History明確許可,不得複制,轉載或再分發此內容。 有關使用Alpha History網站和內容的更多信息,請參閱我們的網站 使用條款.

The American Revolution

The American Revolution began in the mid-1760s as a rebellion of British colonists living along the eastern seaboard of North America. It ended in 1789 with the creation of a new nation, underpinned by a written constitution and a new system of government.

american revolution

The American Revolution had a profound effect on modern history. It challenged and undermined the absolutist power of European monarchies. It replaced the British monarchy with a functioning government based on the Enlightenment principles of republicanism, popular sovereignty and the separation of powers.

The American Revolution showed that revolutions could succeed and that ordinary people could govern themselves. Its ideas and examples inspired the French Revolution (1789) and later nationalist and independence movements. Most significantly, the American Revolution gave birth to the United States, a nation whose political values, economic strength and military power have shaped and defined the modern world.

The story of the American Revolution is one of rapid change and developments. Before the 1760s, the 13 American colonies enjoyed decades of economic prosperity and good relations with Britain. Most Americans considered themselves loyal Britons; they were content to be subjects of a wise and benevolent British king than the slaves and vassals of some foreign tyrant. That a revolution could unfold in American colonial society seemed unthinkable.

During the mid-1760s, this loyalty to Britain was tested by a seemingly benign issue: disagreements and debates over government policies and taxes. Within a decade, American farmers were arming themselves with muskets and pitchforks and marching into battle against British troops at Lexington, Massachusetts. By mid-1776, American politicians considered the bonds with Britain so irreparably broken that they voted for independence. This independence brought with it two challenges: war with Britain, the world’s preeminent military power, and the need for a new system of government. Meeting these challenges marked the final phase of the American Revolution.

Alpha History’s American Revolution website contains hundreds of primary and secondary sources to help you understand events in America between 1763 and 1789. Our topic pages, written by experienced teachers and historians, provide concise summaries of key events and issues. They are supported by reference material like timelines, glossaries, biographical profiles, concept maps, quotations, historiography and profiles of prominent historians. Our website also contains a range of online activities such as crosswords and multiple choice quizzes, where you can test and revise your understanding of America in revolution.

With the exception of primary sources, all content on this website is © Alpha History 2015-19. This content may not be copied, republished or redistributed without the express permission of Alpha History. For more information about the use of Alpha History’s website and content, please refer to our Terms of Use.